Healthy Heart Award Rito

rito award banner

The first level of the Healthy Heart Award | Tohu Manawa Ora is Rito. This level helps you to put some strong foundations in place around healthy eating and physical activity. Embarking on your Rito journey means we will help you with the following:


Strand 1: Physical activity policy Kaupapa here whakakori tinana

  • Develop or review physical activity policies. 


Strand 2: Healthy eating policy Kaupapa here kai pai

  • Develop or review Healthy eating policies.


Strand 3: Food provision | He toha kai

  • Develop or review lunchbox guidelines to support your parents and whānau, or
  • Develop or review a cyclical menu which meets Rito menu criteria and display it to  



Strand 4: Healthy eating learning and teaching | Te kai hauora me te whakaako

  • Provide and record learning experiences on healthy eating including learning outcomes.


Strand 5: Physical activity learning & teaching Tea ko me te whakaakoranga tinana

  • Provide and record learning experiences on physical activity including learning outcomes.


Strand 6: Collaboration | Ngātahi

  • Let your parents and whānau know you are on your Healthy Heart Award journey


Strand 7: Professional Development | Tupu Umanga

  • Gather nutrition and physical activity resources for your team to help increase their knowledge and boost their teaching practices

Need more information? View our Healthy Heart Award Criteria 



Not the right level for you? Check out the Whānau or Pā-Harakeke levels